• Users Online: 88
  • Print this page
  • Email this page

 Table of Contents  
Year : 2021  |  Volume : 6  |  Issue : 1  |  Page : 40


MWAN National Coordinator/Chair 21 st Biennial Conference Local Organising Comittee

Date of Web Publication30-Jun-2021

Correspondence Address:
Login to access the Email id

Source of Support: None, Conflict of Interest: None

Rights and PermissionsRights and Permissions

How to cite this article:
Agbonle B. Acknowledgements. J Med Womens Assoc Niger 2021;6:40

How to cite this URL:
Agbonle B. Acknowledgements. J Med Womens Assoc Niger [serial online] 2021 [cited 2022 Aug 8];6:40. Available from: http://www.jmwan.org/text.asp?2021/6/1/40/319836

The Medical Women's Association of Nigeria (MWAN) wishes to appreciate the following for the success of her 21st Biennial Conference (Asaba 2019) which held from 12th to 15th September 2019 in Orchid Hotels, Asaba, as well as the production of the Book of Proceedings.

First and foremost we thank God for His guidance and direction. We sincerly appreciate the Delta State Government of Nigeria and our proactive and hardworking Governor of Delta State, Senator Dr. Ifeanyi A. Okowa for his overwhelming financial support; the Delta State Ministry of Health led by the Honorable Commissioner for Health, Dr. Mordi Ononye and supported by the Permanent Secretary, Dr. Minnie Oseji who made sure funds were available for the pre-conference events and other activities.

We acknowledge the presence of the Honorable Minister for Health, Dr. E. Osagie Ehanire; the Honorable Minister of State for Health, Dr. Adeleke O. Mamora who opened the ceremony; the Honorable Commissioner of Police, Delta State, Adeyinka Adeleke; Nigerian Medical Association (NMA) President, Dr. F. Faduyile who was represented by Vice-President 1, Dr. K. Tijo; and the NMA Delta State Chairman, Dr. Omo Ekeneam with his executives.

We were highly elated at the presence of the Medical Women's International Association (MWIA) President-Elect, Dr. Eleanor Nwadinobi who equally gave a presentation during the Plenary Session. She has since been elevated to the position of International President. We are grateful to the Asagba of Asaba, HRM Obi Prof. Chike Edozien and his wife HRH Modupe Edozien for their warm reception during the courtesy visit paid them by MWAN during the conference.

The support and presence of Delta State Ministry of Women Affairs and Social Development; the presence of Delta State Ministry of Power and Energy, the presence of organizations represented such as UNICEF, FIDA (International Federation of Women Lawyers), NBA (Nigerian Bar Association) NAWOJ (National Association of Women Journalists), Nigerian Defence Civil Corps are all appreciated. The Association appreciates the guest speaker in the person of Dr. Eghe Abe, Health Specialist UNICEF Rivers Field Office Director who delivered the Abimbola Awoliyi lecture on behalf of the UNICEF Chief of Health, Dr. Sanjana Bhardwaj. We acknowledge the expert presentations of other Speakers during the Plenary Session in the person of Prof. Angela Okolo and Prof. Ifeoma Okoye.

Our thanks also go to all the presenters at pre-conference events and the scientific sessions for their scholarly contributions, without which the Conference would have not achieved its astounding success. We also recognize the Chairs of the various scientific sessions, who guided each session.

Our appreciation also goes to NORDICA, Lagos; Credo Pharmacy, Warri; Nigerian Medical Association Delta State; Lily Hospitals, Warri; Association of Family and Reproductive Health (AFRH), Ibadan; St. George's Specialists Clinic, Warri; Divine Charity Clinic, Warri; Drug Field Pharmaceuticals, Lagos; College of Health Sciences, Delta State University, Abraka; Saro Lifecare Ltd, Lagos for their financial support.

We equally acknowledge all MWAN States and over 300 participants that attended the conference as well as our friends, family and well wishers, particularly those who sent goodwill messages. All the efforts of our Immediate Past National President, Dr. J. Barber and the other members of the 2017-2019 MWAN Executives are appreciated. The immediate Past President MWAN Delta, Dr N. Ali and all members of MWAN Delta State, especially the hard working Local Organising Committee members are sincerely appreciated for their efforts, personal sacrifices of time, comfort and money. Special commendation goes to the Scientific subcommittee for effciently putting together a robust Scientific Session.

We sincerely thank Dr. Minnie Oseji, MWAN National President, Dr. Bobola Agbonle, MWAN National Secretary and Ms. Tabitha Omenogor, Editorial Assistant of the Journal of the Medical Women's Association of Nigeria for all their contributions to the production of this Book of Proceedings.

Thank you.


Similar in PUBMED
   Search Pubmed for
   Search in Google Scholar for
Access Statistics
Email Alert *
Add to My List *
* Registration required (free)

  In this article

 Article Access Statistics
    PDF Downloaded77    
    Comments [Add]    

Recommend this journal